Happy International Women’s Day!

Today is International Women’s Day 2014! I can honestly say that I have never been more glad to be a woman than I am at this point in my life. I’m usually not a big proponent of this type of celebration/day/recognition, but this time, I am. There are multiple reasons why I am more proud to be a woman, but I can save those for another time.

Growing up, I always was given the impression by various people in my life that being female meant I was, if only to a slight extent, lesser. I will not name names or point fingers, but it happened. The things that make me who I am are, in a lot of ways, very feminine qualities. I am an emotional person. I am a caring person. I love very deeply and become emotionally invested in the people I care about. These qualities, while not limited to the female gender, are more commonly found in it. I was always under the impression that these things make one weak and lesser.

I do not believe so any longer! And you shouldn’t either.

If you are a woman, please be proud of the things that make you the person you are. You are amazing!

If you are a young woman, please know that the struggles you are going through to figure out what makes you weak and what makes you strong will work themselves out and you will be fine. You may not feel amazing, but trust me, you are!

If you are a man, give us a break! Our sensitive and emotional natures are why you love us. Your grandmothers, mothers, aunts, sisters, and female friends took care of you and helped you become who you are.

Women around the world struggle for various things, against various unrealistic ideals, and with various goals in mind. Some struggle for higher wages and better jobs. Some struggle to get jobs at all. Some struggle to feed their children. Some struggle to feed themselves. Some struggle to make it out of sex slave industries. Some struggle for reproductive rights. Many struggle with feeling lesser.

Let’s be proud of being women. We struggle every day for something and we still manage (for the most part) to look pretty and smell nice! Great job ladies, keep up the good work!

Happy International Women’s Day!

3 thoughts on “Happy International Women’s Day!

  1. Good article.This has given us to understand your feeling as woman being.Expect you to share your views like this on such remarkable occasion.B.c.Poddar

Leave a Reply

